Sunday, April 27, 2014

SNGF - My "Real Life"

Randy Seaver's Saturday Night Genealogy Fun asked us to report on our activities/life outside of genealogy related activities.

Even though I spend a great deal of time doing genealogy, I also have a "real life" outside genealogy.

My husband and I have 6 children who are all still living at home.  In fact, our youngest, Mira, isn't even a year old.  We also have a pet golden retriever and a pug, and a cat.  We also homeschool our children.  

We really enjoy traveling, especially RVing, but we havent been traveling for the past 3 years since I have had 2 babies :)

I also enjoy reading. I really like some of the same authors as Randy actually: Lee Child, James Patterson, John Sandford, Michael Palmer, Michael Connelly, John Grisham.  Also Piers Anthony, Minette Walters, Stephen King, Dean Koontz, and many more.  Lately my absolute favorite reading is the A Song of Ice and Fire books (Game of Thrones) and TV show.  I have read a great number of books, and I find them to be the best I have read. I could fill whole posts on my thoughts on these books so I'll leave it at that!

I also keep up with current events, usually with news feeds online.

I have a special interest in environmental issues, ie against Monsanto, for organic foods etc.

I have absolutely no interest in sports.  

I like popular (ie Top 40s type) music, and 80s music.  My husband is a musician, I have no musical talent.  

Game of Thrones is the only TV show I watch as its aired.  I watch various other shows on Netflix or other similar services.  Some of the other TV shows I have watched or am watching include House, Criminal Minds, CSI, The Good Wife, Greys Anatomy, The Practice, and How I Met Your Mother.  I seem to mainly like crime dramas, medical dramas and legal dramas.  On a side note, I did not like the series ending to How I Met Your Mother.

We rarely go to see movies in the theatre, as with 6 children it is just usually not worth the effort and expense.  We do enjoy live theatre (in fact my husband has written musical plays and had them performed in theatres, and has acted in several live theatre productions) but haven't been involved in the live theatre scene for a few years.  

I can't cook at all.  My husband does most of the cooking.  I do all of the breastfeeding.  Depending on the day, each of us thinks we have the better deal ;) I can bake, but don't bake frequently.  I like lots of foods.  

I don't exercise much, but sometimes I go on a Wii Fit/Wii Games, or Xbox Zumba/dance type games binge.  I do walk a great deal, even when very pregnant I tend to walk long distances.  It is not uncommon for me to walk somewhere that takes 30 min to an hour to get to by foot.  

Lately, I've taken a huge interest in cryptocurrencies (ie. Bitcoin). 

I have also taken an interest lately in the game Minecraft.

Sleep....hmmm?? whats that???  At night, I like to listen to audiobooks and history related podcasts (ok, I will admit that is almost genealogy related....)

No comments:

Post a Comment