Saturday, July 19, 2014

Worldwide Indexing Event

On July 2, 2012, a total of 49,025 FamilySearch indexers and arbitrators set the all-time record for the most indexing participants in a single day. Now, on July 20-21, 2014 we are aiming for a new all-time record of 50,000 participants in a single day.

Everyone wants more records available for the genealogy research.  The answers to your brick wall may very well be sitting in a set of records that haven't been indexed yet.  Watch this video to get an idea of what indexing can do:



I have to say that today was the first time I viewed that video and it's amazing! The one below explains better, but the one above really captures the emotions of researchers better.  Indexing is easy and quick to get started in.  And it helps everyone.  Really, everyone.  Records indexed are available free at Familysearch.org, where researchers worldwide can access them from home 24/7.  FamilySearch is doing an amazing job scanning records and making them available, but there is so many record collections that need indexing already, and the list is growing rapidly as their scanning pace is exceeding the indexing pace.



The goal is to have 50,000 indexers and arbitrators to do at least ONE batch of records in the 24 hour period of the challenge. We can do this!!! 

I will be participating in this of course! I still fondly remember helping index and arbitrate the 1940 census.   I will probably be doing a combination of indexing and arbitrating, and may work on more than one project. 

It is probably a good idea to have some batches downloaded before tomorrow, as the servers may be overwhelmed.

DearMyrtle is having a GeneaSleepover to support this event. I am looking forward to it!  Apparently, we will be doing 15 min of indexing and 45 minutes of genealogy fun! For 24 whole hours.  

I should also mention that your indexing can double as your 3-2-1-Cite July Challenge as well.

If you are new to indexing, you can go here.

You can join the Facebook Event here.

For those of you who are, like me, a bit challenged about time zones, here are the start times for various locations:

Sydney, Australia: July 21 @ 10:00 AM
Osaka, Japan: July 21 @ 9:00 AM
Moscow, Russia: July 21 @ 4:00 AM
Kyiv, Ukraine: July 21 @ 3:00 AM
Johannesburg, South Africa: July 21 @ 2:00 AM
Amsterdam, Berlin, Brussels, Paris, Rome, Stockholm, Warsaw: July 21 @ 2:00 AM
London, England: July 21 @ 1:00 AM
São Paulo, Brazil: July 20 @ 9:00 PM
Buenos Aires, Argentina: July 20 @ 9:00 PM
Ottawa, Canada: July 20 @ 8:00 PM
Santiago, Chile: July 20 @ 8:00 PM
New York City, New York: July 20 @ 8:00 PM
Chicago, Illinois: July 20 @ 7:00 PM
Salt Lake City, Utah: July 20 @ 6:00 PM
Phoenix, Arizona: July 20 @ 5:00 PM
Los Angeles, California: July 20 @ 5:00 PM
Anchorage, Alaska: July 20 @ 4:00 PM
Honolulu, Hawaii: July 20 @ 2:00 PM